Tags

, , ,

The more I work with filters, the more I realize how much time can be wasted in front of a computer screen.  I see it again and again: individuals who spend fractions of the time I do outside taking pictures in a few minutes, and then rushing home to the computer to spend hours photoshopping.  I’ll be the first to admit it; filters take time effort and a certain amount of micromanaging your camera.  But the results are worth it and speak for themselves.  More often than not, I can use the results hot off the sensor with only a minimal amount of digital modification (specifically some micro-contrast and perhaps the colour curve into the look of whatever film style I had in mind when I took the shot).
Recently in the Bahamas, I was puttering about on the beach and figuring out where the best angle was for some beach shots.  As I’ve become resigned to, enter random woman with camera, who immediately begins commentary on the scene, how she’s a professional (funny how real pros don’t need to talk about that fact).  I humour her while I’m setting up, joking about how I’d like someone to remove the ship that was on the horizon.  In reality, I was just killing time until the ship moved.  She looks at me with amusement and says “Oh, I’ll just PhotoShop it.”  Thankfully she left and I was able to get some work done. Two ND filters and a polarizer later, this is the result straight out of the camera.

15898721817_c234503fb5_k

I’ve never understood those who Photoshop for hours when all it takes is a little bit of know-how and a filter or two.

