Tags

, ,

So far, so good. Upon arrival at the airport in Siem Reap, there is the usual visa/immigration lineup. Unlike Ho Chi Minh, the Cambodians have got it down to a science. Fill out all your forms, and even in a plane full of tourists you shouldn’t be waiting more than 10 minutes. Don’t forget your passport photos and $20 US (as opposed to the total of more than $85 that the Vietnamese gouge out of you). A driver was waiting, and the Golden Temple hotel ($40 a night) was about 10 minutes away. Most of the more expensive tourist hotels are on the way to the airport outside of town. A guide and driver of the temples was arranged at the hotel, and so Day One at the temples begins tomorrow. Basically it’s all about the photography, and I’ve got no excuses since all my important kit is with me. Everything I need for HDR images and more is in my bag, making the goal for tomorrow twofold: 1) not having anything stolen and 2) producing some images worthy of the Nikon D800/14-24mm f/2.8 that I have with me. The much Bally-hoo’d versatility of the 24-120mm f/4 will also be pushed to the limit. Shooting RAW makes me feel like the old days of film: every image needs to count, I’ve got only so many compact flash cards. It rains a lot here and the humidity is quite heavy, although at only 30C it’s not oppressive. I am lucky to be here just before the beginning of the really rainy season. If the weather holds, all should be well. If not, the waterproof durability of both my weather-sealed Nikkor lenses and Billingham canvas bag will be tested. It should be a good day of shooting tomorrow.

20130417-155627.jpg

