Tags

, ,

A random translation I was asked for help with.  Without a lot of context, it wasn’t very easy, but I think I came up with a workable translation.  Any comments are welcome.

LT = Literal Translation
TN = Translator’s Note

I use Canadian spelling, not American or British. I try to avoid “awkward/beautiful” Japanese translations, preferring normally used English wherever possible. I put names in the normal English manner, first name, family name, Japanese names don’t get special treatment. Suffixes such as -san, -chan, and -kun don’t get left in, they’re unnecessary unless they indicate a change in status or closeness which adds to the story, in which case the English gets changed.

でも俺にとっては
But for me

やっぱり異性である前に
I expect, before the opposite sex existed for me
TN: It’s not easy without context, but he’s basically saying “Before I met girls” or “Before girls came into my life”

”お母さん”みたいな存在だった
It was a mother-like existence

TN: As in, I just wanted to be mothered, or be taken care of by a mothering figure

。。。憧れの
that I longed for

どうしたい訳でもない
Why I wanted to do it, there was no reason

ただひたすら居心地のいい場所で甘えていたい
It was just an entirely comfortable place I wanted to live in

いつまでも
Forever

焦った。。。
I was focussed…

自分の。。。そういう考えに気づいた時戸惑った
My self… That kind of thinking, I was at a loss…

すごく
Greatly

すごく恥ずかしくて。。。認めたくなくて
I was terribly embarrassed… it became recognized
TN: Again without further context on the situation, hard to explain, but it sounds like everyone heard/found out about what he wanted

気づかないフリをした
I pretended not to care

すぐに
Immediately

